Some Disappear, Some Grow

As I looked in the mirror a week ago, I noticed something I wish was not true…my birthmark is growing. It always is–I guess it just took me a while to notice the new province it made home to. When I was a itty bitty baby, my birthmark was much smaller too. Even thought I’m done growing now, my birthmark isn’t out of fuel. *sigh*

But why is it that some birthmarks grow for an entire life, while others–like hemangiomas and Angel’s Kisses–very often decrease both in size and hyperpigmentation, or even disappear (1)?

Being that I’m not a doctor, I can’t say for sure. The cause for birthmarks themselves even remains unknown (2)! However, I do know that Angel’s kisses, salmon patches, and hemangiomas (aka strawberry birthmarks) are macular vascular birthmarks, and they develop from blood vessels that are close to the surface (1). “Unlike other vascular birthmarks, hemangiomas usually grow very rapidly. Growth generally begins during the first 6 weeks of life and continues for about 8-12 months. After the first year, most hemangiomas will stop growing. They then begin to turn white and slowly shrink. Half of all hemangiomas (50%) are flat by age five” (2). “Babies born with macular birthmarks on the eyelids tend to fade away within the first year. However, macular birthmarks on the neck tend not to fade and may require birthmark removal treatment” (3). Port wine stains are also “the result of an abnormal formation of blood vessels…” Port wine stains, on the other hand “will not fade away” (3). In a cafe au lait spot, the cause is hyperpigmentation, and that hyperpigmentation goes through all the layers of the skin, so skin lightening lotions will not work. Lasers are used to lighten/remove port wine stains and cafe au lait spots, however, speaking from experience, the lasers do not always completely get rid of the birthmark, even after several attempts. Consult with your doctor.

Footnotes:

1 – medicinenet.com/birthmarks_and_other_skin_pigmentation_problems/article.htm
“Angel’s kisses may appear on the forehead and eyelids, but will typically disappear early in childhood.”
“Most hemangiomas will go away on their own; roughly 50% resolve by age 5, 70% by age 7 and 90% by age 9.”

2 – torontodermatologycentre.com/Vascular_birthmarks
“The exact birthmarks causes are unknown. However, vascular birthmarks are not inherited, nor are they caused by anything that happens to the mother during pregnancy.”

3 – www.sknclinics.co.uk/what-are-birthmarks
**It is important to note that this link contains inaccurate information under its “What are Pigmentation Birthmarks” section, so I can’t guarantee if the quotes I used from the page are accurate. It says, “Dark birthmarks are the result of hyper pigmentation and are often referred to as café-au-lait marks, moles or pigmentation birthmarks. These types of birthmarks occur when there is too much colour or pigmentation in the skin. Birthmark removal is not necessary for most pigmentation birthmarks as they typically fade or disappear within five years.
The underlined sentence is a false statement. Hyper-pigmented birthmarks do not fade or disappear ever. In the case of Cafe au lait spots, they darken in sunlight (summer time), and lighten in lack of sunlight (winter time), but they do not fade nor disappear over the years as I am 25 and have yet to see mine do that!! 

7 thoughts on “Some Disappear, Some Grow

  1. Does this ( http://imgur.com/PFMv84G ) look like a cafe-au-lait spot? It used to be a lot smaller when I was younger (I never had it diagnosed as a cafe-au-lait spot) and I noticed that it started to grow especially during the last year (I’m 28 now). Is it normal for those spots to grow so large?

    • The image isn’t showing up. Could you resend please? Yes, cafe au lait spots do indeed grow sometimes. Mine definitely has, more so when I was a baby and young child. I would see a dermatologist specializing in birthmarks if you are concerned. Our birthmarks give us a heightened chance of getting skin cancer.

      • I clicked on the link and it shows up on my comp (weird). Here’s a direct link to it: http://i.imgur.com/PFMv84G.jpg

        I don’t really know how to send you the picture otherwise. I will visit a dermatologist soon. I went to a physician the other day and said there was nothing to worry about but I’d rather get a pro’s opinion.

        I read your posts on laser treatment. I don’t really want to take my birthmark away because it’s quite well hidden on the back of my leg, above the ankle, and it doesn’t bother me. However, I would prefer to hide it under a tattoo. Have you got any info on tattoos over birthmarks (over cafe-au-lait birthmarks that have a shade of color closer to the natural skin)?

      • Yes, I’m glad you’re getting a pro’s opinion because a physician won’t truly know. Physicians have told me to use lightening creams on it. Dumb advice considering the hyperpigmentation goes all the way through the epidermis AND dermis.

        I’ve never heard of people covering a birthmark with a tattoo. Talk to your pro because my only worry would be *if* your birthmark area became cancerous, you may not be able to take note of any odd changes in color since the tattoo covers it….but I may be 100% wrong–just a thought to throw out there.

        If you end up getting a skin colored tattoo, let me know how it works!

  2. Thank you for any other great post. The place else could anyone get that kind of information in such an
    ideal manner of writing? I’ve a presentation subsequent week, and I’m on the search for such information.

  3. I have numerous cafe au lait spots all over my body, face, hands, legs, and there are alot of tiny ones around my lips which make them looks like freckles…and they are still growing until today. It seems like they’ve never stop. =( i hope I’ll be able to search for a solution in your blog to at least cover up those visible birthmarks. =(

Leave a comment